

Martha's Vineyard Commission

OLD STONE BUILDING • 33 NEW YORK AVENUE P.O. BOX 1447, OAK BLUFFS, MASSACHUSETTS, 02557 PHONE 508-693-3453 • FAX 508-693-7894 INFO@MVCOMMISSION.ORG • <u>WWW.MVCOMMISSION.ORG</u>

July 15, 2021

Speaker of the House, Ronald Mariano: <u>Ronald.Mariano@mahouse.gov</u> President of the Senate, Karen Spilka: <u>Karen.Spilka@masenate.gov</u>

Joint Committee on Housing:

Senate Chair John Keenan: <u>John.Keenan@masenate.gov</u> Senate Vice-Chair Patricia D. Jehlen: <u>Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov</u> House Chair James Arciero: <u>James.Arciero@mahouse.gov</u> House Vice-Chair John H. Rogers: <u>John.Rogers@mahouse.gov</u>

Joint Committee on Revenue:

Senate Chair Adam Hinds: <u>Adam.Hinds@masenate.gov</u> Senate Vice-Chair Brendan P. Crighton: <u>Brendan.Crighton@masentate.gov</u> House Chair Mark J. Cusack: <u>Mark.Cusack@mahouse.gov</u> House Vice-Chair David Linsky: <u>David.Linsky@mahouse.gov</u>

Senator Julian Cyr: <u>Julian.Cyr@masentate.gov</u> Representative Dylan Fernandes: <u>Dylan.Fernandes@mahouse.gov</u>

Dear Honorable Members of the Massachusetts House and Senate:

The Martha's Vineyard Commission is a regional planning authority, funded by the six Island towns, with broad authority on multiple issues of regional concern, including low- and moderate-income housing. The Commission is acutely aware of the severity of the Martha's Vineyard housing crisis, its negative impact on our economy and community infrastructure, and the need for reliable long-term funding Island-wide to implement housing solutions. A variety of local initiatives are underway in each of our six Towns, but adequate funding is a major obstacle to creating the much-needed housing in a quantity that would make an impact. A significant funding source, beyond what is currently available to the Towns, is an absolute necessity if the Island is to meaningfully address the low- and moderate-income housing shortage.

By a unanimous vote, the Martha's Vineyard Commission supports bills introduced in the MA Legislature this session which seek to establish Transfer Fees on real estate transactions over a certain amount to fund affordable, community, and attainable housing:

S868: <u>https://malegislature.gov/Bills/192/S868</u>
H1377: <u>https://malegislature.gov/Bills/192/H1377</u>
H2895: <u>https://malegislature.gov/Bills/192/H2895</u>
We respectfully request that these bills be reported out of committee favorably.

We also endorse the Coalition to Create the MV Housing Bank (CCMVHB) <u>https://www.ccmvhb.org/</u>, which seeks to create an Island-wide housing bank, funded by a transfer fee, for the purpose of directly funding affordable, community, and attainable year-round housing efforts.

Thank you,

Malkin, Chair Joa

cc: Select Boards of Aquinnah, Chilmark, Edgartown, Oak Bluffs, Tisbury & West Tisbury; Dukes County Commission; Tribal Council, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head/Aquinnah; Laura Silber, CCMVHB